Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Escape from Blood Prison Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 100 Reformatory Road
  • Mansfield, OH
  • 419-522-2644
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
13 and up
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses
Review This Haunt
  • Awesome

    This was the best haunting experience ever. It left us totally speechless. The sets and the design were outstanding. The setting made it even more scary because it was authentic. We travelled from England, on a road trip, specifically to go to this event and we were blown away. We will never forget it!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Never Again.

    As a new Ohio resident, I purchased tickets as a surprise for my husband. There was no information on the website regarding what we experienced upon our arrival. Right off the bat, we were delayed in our parking experience due to the thick layers of mud trapping cars, forcing workers to stop the line to push vehicles out of the muck. After slipping and nearly twisting an ankle on the path slick with mud, and being slightly accosted by the usher, we began to wait in line. If I may fast-forward two miserable hours, my husband and I stood soaked through our three jackets and especially our shoes, making us legitimately concerned about our health and safety. At this point, the line came to a complete standstill. If I may fast-forward another hour, we were so chilled to the bone with no prospects of moving forward in queue that we just decided to leave. After three hours of patient dedication, suffering unexpected and unwarned, we decided to make our departure. Nothing in the world is worth three hours of inhumane conditions, and I hope this sentiment will be taken to heart by all those wishing to go to the Ohio State Reformatory for a "good time."

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Cold and Snow

    We waited in line too long in the snow and rain. The haunt was fun but I don’t scare easily I did enjoy myself. I’m a sensitive so I could feel the weight of loss around.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Save your money.

    Spent the extra money on the speed pass because it was raining, which was ok but the haunt itself was not worth the price. Limited actors for as many scenes as they had. Will probably not go back the haunted school house and laboratory was way better. I did the overnight ghost hunt 2 years ago and it is way better.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Loved "IT"

    My husband and I go here every year with a large motorcycle group. Every year it gets better. From the lighting to the props everything is scary great! The actors are pretty amazing as well. They play their parts so very well.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • 3 hour wait!!

    As an avid haunter this place was put together very well BUT the three hour wait was terrible! Not enough actors at all. Once inside I found it to be very detailed and amazing at times. Drove in from PA to visit and would visit again if only staying in the area because of the wait time. Over all one of my my top 5 haunted adventures.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Wasn't Worth It

    It was raining when we got there. Had to stand in line in the rain, but we knew it was supposed to rain so, whatever. The line was fairly short, I think we waited in line maybe 45 minutes. The scenes that are set up are really neat and executed well but there were not many actors to scare people! And the actors that were there, didnt do much scaring. I get scared and scream quite easily at haunted attractions, and I didnt scream once, I only jumped from loud noises maybe 3 times. So all in all, waiting 45 minutes in the cold and rain wasnt worth the haunted attraction. Was cool being inside the Reformatory though.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Awesome

    This was the best haunting experience ever. It left us totally speechless. The sets and the design were outstanding. The setting made it even more scary because it was authentic. We travelled from England, on a road trip, specifically to go to this event and we were blown away. We will never forget it!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Never Again.

    As a new Ohio resident, I purchased tickets as a surprise for my husband. There was no information on the website regarding what we experienced upon our arrival. Right off the bat, we were delayed in our parking experience due to the thick layers of mud trapping cars, forcing workers to stop the line to push vehicles out of the muck. After slipping and nearly twisting an ankle on the path slick with mud, and being slightly accosted by the usher, we began to wait in line. If I may fast-forward two miserable hours, my husband and I stood soaked through our three jackets and especially our shoes, making us legitimately concerned about our health and safety. At this point, the line came to a complete standstill. If I may fast-forward another hour, we were so chilled to the bone with no prospects of moving forward in queue that we just decided to leave. After three hours of patient dedication, suffering unexpected and unwarned, we decided to make our departure. Nothing in the world is worth three hours of inhumane conditions, and I hope this sentiment will be taken to heart by all those wishing to go to the Ohio State Reformatory for a "good time."

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Cold and Snow

    We waited in line too long in the snow and rain. The haunt was fun but I don’t scare easily I did enjoy myself. I’m a sensitive so I could feel the weight of loss around.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Save your money.

    Spent the extra money on the speed pass because it was raining, which was ok but the haunt itself was not worth the price. Limited actors for as many scenes as they had. Will probably not go back the haunted school house and laboratory was way better. I did the overnight ghost hunt 2 years ago and it is way better.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Loved "IT"

    My husband and I go here every year with a large motorcycle group. Every year it gets better. From the lighting to the props everything is scary great! The actors are pretty amazing as well. They play their parts so very well.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • 3 hour wait!!

    As an avid haunter this place was put together very well BUT the three hour wait was terrible! Not enough actors at all. Once inside I found it to be very detailed and amazing at times. Drove in from PA to visit and would visit again if only staying in the area because of the wait time. Over all one of my my top 5 haunted adventures.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Wasn't Worth It

    It was raining when we got there. Had to stand in line in the rain, but we knew it was supposed to rain so, whatever. The line was fairly short, I think we waited in line maybe 45 minutes. The scenes that are set up are really neat and executed well but there were not many actors to scare people! And the actors that were there, didnt do much scaring. I get scared and scream quite easily at haunted attractions, and I didnt scream once, I only jumped from loud noises maybe 3 times. So all in all, waiting 45 minutes in the cold and rain wasnt worth the haunted attraction. Was cool being inside the Reformatory though.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Not impressed

    I wasn’t really impressed with this place. It could have been much better. We paid the extra $10 for the speed pass and still waited in line for over an hour. Once inside, we just kind of walked around and nothing was scary. Not a lot of actors doing anything inside. I wouldn’t come back, not worth the drive or the money .

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Actors

    I went thru and the actors were dressed up very nice. I had many scares! My favorite part of the haunt was "Good ol sparky" I loved seeing it be reacted. It was so real the way she reacted being shocked! By far the best! I will be coming back next year and many years after! Keep up the good work. #2018

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Very lively performance

    Escape from Blood Prison is one of the best haunted attractions I have been to. Decor and settings were mind blowing. Very lively performance by the actors and makeup was absolutely realistic. The hilarious axe wielding character and the chainsaw guy will give you nightmares. We felt like we were in reality got stuck in a haunted house such a real life experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Horror and Fun

    I went to Escape from Blood Prison with my hubby and kids… this was such a pleasant experience, Fun with Horror all around for all age groups. Numerous Murder Sprees was new to us and we enjoyed it the most. Clowns were so hilarious. They had organized good DJ and music. I will come here in next season to rock once again with lots of new surprises.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Not an affordable haunt

    I visited with my friends on a Saturday night and was not completely satisfied. The ticket price is really high. If you purchase general admission then you have wait for more than 2 hours and speed pass will just reduce the wait to nearly 1 hr so don’t try speed pass its completely a waste of money. Another choice was Lightning pass but $40 is not affordable for everyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome Creepiness

    I've been going to the prison since 2013, this year by far has been the best! Awesome props, effects and people dressed up!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Terrifying and frightening haunt

    It was a terrifying and frightening haunted house. The incredible casts makes Blood Prison different from other houses. The haunt includes so many unique and creative characters roaming inside the house….all of them were amazing and awesome. My favourite was the hilarious axe wielding character. He makes his own sound effects while he swings his axe, and it was funny as well. The chainsaw guy at the end of the show was also excellent. A highly recommended haunted house in OH.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary terrifying actors

    I with my girlfriend visited the haunt. The scary costumes and makeups were terrifying… Some characters wore gorgeous costumes and elaborate makeups while some others with simple hospital gown or jump suits. But importantly, the costumes and makeups suited the characters. Props were perfect… the technical side including the cryogenic lab sequence with video display screens and wall statue puppets were incredible to say the least. The fog and every fog machine controller were brightly lit and clearly visible. The ticket rates were economic too. I can’t wait till next year!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Good quality scares

    It’s one of the scariest places I visited this Halloween. However Escape from Blood Prison is so costly and the waiting time in lines is too long. The place has lots of good quality scares but staffs were not friendly which made customers uncomfortable. Overall an one time visit for die hard scare lovers.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Best haunted house I have ever been to!

    This was by far the best haunted house I have ever been to. I bought the lighting pass and was able to go straight inside. It was set up very well. GET THE TOUCH PASS!!! It was worth the extra money to get the touch pass and it made it that much more exciting. I even plan on going back before it closes!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Terrifying but awesome

    After a 3 hours ride in bike I and my GF reached the haunted house Blood Prison. I can say, it was an awesome haunt. My GF who is 6 feet 3 in height, usually hard to scare, were screaming and jumping at each corner of the house. Her opinion about the house was “terrifying but awesome”. The sets and arrangements were well thought-out. The actors also did a great job in scaring us. It was all lot of fun as well.. I will come back again for sure in the upcoming season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Could've been better

    The actors tried their best I'll give them the credit they were super nice and all but I don't scare easily. My family members got spooked from loud noises not the rest of it. Too much SFX in my opinion maybe use the old prison itself to your advantage and darkness more, but thank you for the fun time :) I made an actor laugh because of "It's okay I'm just making friends, something I can't do in real life" Ha but yeah looking forward to better line management and layout indoors next time also?

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Greatest haunted house ever!!!!

    Honestly, i thought it was going to suck. Nope. Almost 3 hour drive one way. It was well worth it!!! Got the lightning pass and the touch pass and it was just amazing. Got my hair pulled, choked, spanked etc. There were parts that werent that scary but trust me it was well worth the money!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Fantastical world of monsters and ghosts

    Escape from Blood Prison is a fantastical world of monsters and ghosts. Numerous dramatic clowns and super music are making this place vibrant. It really gives you better way to enjoy life. The place is filled with magnetic vibes of horror and fun same time. Clowns Sighting is so scary and Haunted Graveyard is melodramatic. You don’t know what is going to happen… Come and join this ultimate fun.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Best Haunt Ever!!

    Best haunted house ever! Touch Pass is a must! Went on a Thursday night, only waited in line about an hour with a regular pass, tour was 45 minutes long! Can't wait to go back!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • HORRIBLE

    Save your money, waited six hours in line for a 30 minute haunted house. Nothing is worth that long of a wait. Save your money and go when it's the regular prison tours this was the worst and will never be back

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 12 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified We Loved it!

    We had to wait 2 hours but the awesome 8ft tall Grim reaper kept us entertained. the prison was way better this year as well. It was way worth the wait!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Gave one pumpkin cause I can’t give less

    Worst haunted house experience I’ve ever had.. bought a speed pass. Was told speed pass wait was an hour and a half, just over 4 hours later we were able to enter.. to wait in a line inside. Inside was nothing to brag about. Best part was seeing parts of the old prison. Find another haunted house. Big waste of your evening here. I’ll never go back

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 11 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified If I could give it a negative I would

    The absolute worst haunted house experience ever. Waited in line for 5 hours with a speed pass only to keep waiting in more lines after we made it in. There weren't very many actors inside and the ones that were there were either extremely tired, untrained or just did not care for scaring people. No screaming or anything. We walked a couple of long distances without even seeing any actors. I will never return to this money grab again. Save your money and go somewhere else. You will be disappointed.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Get there

    Amazing!! Nothing more to say. Get there.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Best haunted house EVER

    I have been to several OSR haunted houses and this by far the best! I'm not sure there is a way to top this. It's a fairly long tour (I think around an hour and a half). I can't recommend it enough. Go and see for yourself. And get the touch experience. It makes the experience so much better

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Biggest waste of money and time!!!!!

    Yes I understand it's s haunted house and it's going to be busy but really 5.5 hours in the speed pass line something isn't quit right with that and when we went in at 1:30 am the line was as long maybe longer than when I got in line at 8:00 but when I came out it's empty wtf u push people though at the end of the night and the waiting in lines inside at least you can watch Tv but you need to come up with a better system libeling people up in groups of 20 3 times just to get all stuck anyways just not the best way to handle it I myself aren't a fan of haunted house I don't like to be scared however I go a few times a year we'll I can honestly say that didn't happen but maybe 3 times my whole party was disappointed I see no reason why you have to be 13 you might as well save the money and go take the tour on your own when it's open it was more scary then this defiantly won't be ever coming back for the haunted part!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Fun and Scary

    Good time. Lines were a bit long, but worth the wait! The touch pass is the way to go!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • Most extreme haunt in ohio

    This place got a total make over in actors sets and acting styles. Loved it start to finish. From the clowns to the zombies. They cranked up the extreme factor over the top I was carried drug and spanked. My favorite part was the first set the house maze was well done . Better watch out for the warden she will force you to wear the touch pass as a gag or you’ll be sparked with a whip!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • Total waste of money

    Waited in line for over 2 hours for a walk through the prison filled with fake smoke and people wearing face paint who apparently think it's spooky to walk beside you talking to you. Wasted 30 dollars (10 extra) to not wait 4 hours. Spend your money elsewhere it was a total let down

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Loved it

    This place was so much fun! Absolutely loved going through it and seeing what was all set up. Definitely recommend.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Very long lines

    Very long lines and we had to left without entering the attractions. Drove for 2 hrs to get there and 1 and hr hour in the long wait still the lines were not moving at all and we actually have no idea how much more time will have to be in the lines to enter the attraction. So just come back very disappointed. I will only visit this place if they make arrangements to control the crowd.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Lots of Scary fun

    Yes, I say this place the shining star of scary fun; controls creatively the fear inside you. I have visited Escape from Blood Prison Haunted house with my office colleagues. We had lots of screams as zombies are scaring us and making us run for life. We enjoyed every nook and corner of this haunted house.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?